Tag Archives: The Fearsome Beastie

The Fearsome Beastie

The Fearsome Beastie is written by Giles Paley-Phillips, illustrated by Gabriele Antonini, and was published by Maverick Arts Publishing in 2011. A picture story in the tradition of Roald Dahl or Hillaire Belloc (but with a happier ending!), it also won The People’s Book Prize for children this year.

It’s night-time and the children are woken by scary noises. And in the tradition of children’s stories, the parents are fast asleep so the children have to work out what to do themselves.

The Fearsome Beastie is a proper scary beastie with sharp teeth and claws, and old bones in his lair. He’s also a trickster beastie who pretends to be nice to catch the children. I do love stories where the beastie wins (at least for a little while!) but this is not a book for over-sensitive children. Fortunately my girls aren’t scared of beasties (wicked stepmothers are another matter entirely…) and we all felt a little sad for the beastie’s comeuppance!

Most ‘average’ small girls and boys should love this tale, especially when Gran comes to save the day (a nice role-reversal of the woodcutter saving Granny in Little Red Riding Hood) and there are some lovely funny-gross pictures to accompany the rhyming text.

It’s a good book to snuggle up with when the wind and rain are making scary noises and you can pretend that the Fearsome Beastie is out there somewhere but it all ends well with a nice warm stew 🙂

Disclaimer: We were sent a copy of The Fearsome Beastie by Maverick Arts Publishing for review. No other financial reward was given and the opinions are my own.